Los Angeles Unified School District / Pilots

In 2007, the United Teachers of Los Angeles and the surrounding community launched the Belmont Zone of Choice, modeled after Boston Pilot Schools. After initial success, UTLA “overwhelmingly” voted to expand the number of schools in 2009. In 2010 a new Kennedy Zone of Choice emerged and in 2013 a third option opened in the Sotomayor Zone of Choice. In 2015, there are now 18 Zones of Choice that house small school options for students including 50 plus pilot schools in Los Angeles. Some of these pilot schools have chosen to have teacher-powered school governance structures and are part of our Los Angeles Teacher-Powered Network listed below. We estimate approximately 40 pilot schools have some degree of teacher-powered governance.